Neil Sedaka to get top songwriting honor

May 11, 2004 at 2:59 PM
share with facebook
share with twitter

NEW YORK, May 11 (UPI) -- The Songwriters Hall of Fame has selected Neil Sedaka to receive its highest honor in recognition of his 45 years in the music business.

Sedaka, who wrote Clay Aiken's current No. 1 song "Solitaire," will receive the Sammy Cahn Lifetime Achievement Award June 10 at the 2004 awards dinner in New York, the organization announced Tuesday.

Sedaka has written scores of pop music classics recorded by the likes of Carole King, Connie Francis, Abba, Sheryl Crow, Elvis Presley, Frank Sinatra, including "Laughter in the Rain," "Love Will Keep Us Together," "Where the Boys Are," "Sweet Sixteen" and "Breaking Up Is Hard To Do."

Past recipients of the Sammy Cahn Lifetime Achievement Award, which honors an industry veteran as as a pioneer in his or her craft with enduring and influential contributions, include Patti LaBelle, Dick Clark, Gloria and Emilio Estefan, Neil Diamond, Berry Gordy, Tony Bennett, Steve Lawrence and Eydie Gorme, Nat King Cole and Quincy Jones.

Related UPI Stories
Trending Stories