Seoul approves two new nuclear plant sites

Dec. 23, 2011 at 3:53 PM
share with facebook
share with twitter
Sign up for our Energy newsletter

SEOUL, Dec. 23 (UPI) -- The Korea Hydro and Nuclear Power Co. has announced locations for the country's two new nuclear power plant sites.

The sites chosen are Samcheok and Yeongdeok. A third location, Uljin in North Gyeongsang province, was eliminated from consideration.

Construction at the sites, each of which is to house four reactors, will begin after the Ministry of Knowledge Economy completes on-site inspections and environmental surveys, The Korea Herald Online reported Friday.

"Our long-term power supply plan is to increase the portion of nuclear power from the current 30 percent to 40 percent by 2040 and the plan has not changed," a Knowledge Economy Ministry official said.

"It will be highly important to repeatedly check on the safety of the facilities especially after the Fukushima (Japan) plant accident."

South Korea operates 21 nuclear power plants. Government statistics indicate that nuclear power produces about 40 percent of South Korea's electricity supply, roughly 18.5 gigawatts.

Related UPI Stories
Trending Stories