Facebook to delete photos from user accounts

By Allen Cone  |  June 11, 2016 at 1:46 PM
share with facebook
share with twitter
| License Photo

MENLO PARK, Calif., June 11 (UPI) -- Photos synced from your smartphone to Facebook will soon be deleted if you don't use the company's syncing app.

Earlier this year, images were moved to Moments, which allows you to organize and privately share phones from your phone.

They now are resting in the "Synced" or "Synced from Phone" section of your Facebook photos tab.

But you need to download Moments through Google Play or the Apple App Store before July 7. After this date, Facebook will delete the photos.

If you don't want to use the app, you will need to download photos straight from your Facebook account and save them on your computer. To do that, click on the photo desired, select "options" at the image's bottom and choose "download."

Photo-syncing was launched by Facebook in 2012. But the company released the Moments app last June.

Moments, using artificial intelligence, scans photos, organizes them by events and identifies friends' faces.

Earlier this week, Facebook users on Android devices were being notified later this summer they will be unable to access messages without the Messenger app. Messages are already inaccessible via the official Facebook app.

Related UPI Stories
Topics: Google
Trending Stories