Grain caucus formed

March 29, 2004 at 4:18 PM
share with facebook
share with twitter

WASHINGTON, March 29 (UPI) -- The North American Millers' Association has formed a bi-partisan House-Senate Congressional Grain Caucus to serve the industry's interest.

The group announced Monday the caucus will be co-chaired by Reps. Jerry Moran, R-Kan. and Earl Pomeroy, D-N.D., and Senators Pat Roberts, R-Kan. and Max Baucus, D-Mont.

"I was surprised to discover that in the past a congressional caucus for the grains industry was never formed," said John Gillcrist, a Kansas wheat miller and chairman of the association.

"It is important for the grains industry to have a forum for educating Congress about the issues impacting the wheat industry."

He said the caucus will promote the growth and stability of the small grains industry through educational seminars for members and staff with an interest in issues important to the industry.

Issues addressed by the caucus may include foreign aid food programs, international trade issues, and transgenic wheat.

The millers' association has 46 member companies operating 170 wheat, corn, oat and rye mills in 38 states and 150 cities.

Related UPI Stories
Trending Stories