Nominees for 54th Annual WGA Awards

LOS ANGELES, Jan. 16 -- Here is a list of the TV and radio nominees for the 54th Annual Writers Guild of America Awards, announced Wednesday by the Writers Guild of America, East and west:

Original long form: "Conspiracy," written by Loring Mandel (HBO); "For Love or Country: The Arturo Sandoval Story," written by Timothy J. Sexton (HBO); "61*," written by Hank Steinberg (HBO); "Varian's War," written by Lionel Chetwynd (Showtime)


Adapted long form: "Anne Frank," teleplay by Kirk Ellis, based on the book by Melissa Muller (ABC); "Baby," teleplay by David Manson and Kerry Kennedy and Patricia MacLachlan, based on the book by Patricia MacLachlan (TNT); "Life with Judy Garland: Me and My Shadows," teleplay by Robert L. Freedman, based on the memoir by Lorna Luft (ABC); "The Mists of Avalon," teleplay by Gavin Scott, based on the novel by Marion Zimmer Bradley (TNT); "The Song of the Lark," teleplay by Joseph Maurer, based on the novel by Willa Cather (PBS)


Episodic drama: "Blood Drops" ("CSI: Crime Scene Investigation"), teleplay by Ann Donahue, story by Tish McCarthy (CBS); "Employee of the Month" ("The Sopranos"), written by Robin Green & Mitchell Burgess (HBO); "Pine Barrens" ("The Sopranos"), teleplay by Terence Winter, story by Tim Van Patten & Terence Winter (HBO); "Proshai, Livushka" ("The Sopranos"), written by David Chase (HBO); "Somebody's Going to Emergency, Somebody's Going to Jail" ("The West Wing"), written by Paul Redford and Aaron Sorkin (NBC); "Two Cathedrals" ("The West Wing"), written by Aaron Sorkin (NBC)

Episodic comedy: "Bowling" ("Malcolm in the Middle"), written by Alex Reid (Fox); "Grandparents" ("Malcolm in the Middle"), written by Gary Murphy & Neil Thompson (Fox); "Italy, Parts 1 & 2" ("Everybody Loves Raymond"), written by Philip Rosenthal (CBS); "Just Say Yes" ("Sex and the City"), written by Cindy Chupack (HBO); "My Motherboard, My Self" ("Sex and the City"), written by Julie Rottenberg & Elisa Zuritsky (HBO); "The Pendulum" ("Titus"), written by Christopher Titus (Fox)

Comedy/Variety -- Music, Awards, Tributes, Specials: "The Kennedy Center Honors," written by Don Baer and George Stevens Jr., film sequences written by Sara Lukinson, Harry Miles Muheim (CBS); "Saturday Night Live Presidential Bash 2000," written by James Downey, Al Franken (NBC)


Comedy/Variety series: "Late Night with Conan O'Brien," written by Mike Sweeney, Chris Albers, Ellen Barancik, Andy Blitz, Kevin Dorff, Jonathan Glaser, Michael Gordon, Brian Kiley, Michael Koman, Brian McCann, Guy Nicolucci, Conan O'Brien, Andrew Secunda, Robert Smigel, Brian Stack, Andrew Weinberg (NBC); "The Late Show with David Letterman," written by Eric Stangel, Justin Stangel, Gerard Mulligan, Joe Toplyn, Michael Barrie, Jim Mulholland, Steve Young, Gabe Abelson, Carter L. Bays, Craig Thomas, Chris Harris, Tom Ruprecht, Bill Scheft, Lee H. Ellenberg, David Letterman (CBS); "Politically Incorrect with Bill Maher," writing supervised by Billy Martin, written by Kevin Bleyer, Brian Jacobsmeyer, Bill Kelley, Bill Maher, Ned Rice, Kevin Rooney, Danny Vermont, Eric Weinberg (ABC); "Saturday Night Live," written by Tina Fey, Dennis McNicholas, James Anderson, Robert Carlock, Tony Daro, James Downey, Hugh Fink, Melanie Graham, Steve Higgins, Erik Kenward, Adam McKay, Lorne Michaels, Jerry Minor, Matt Murray, Paula Pell, Matt Piedmont, Jon Rosenfeld, Frank Sebastiano, Michael Schur, T. Sean Shannon, Robert Smigel, Barry Sobel, Andrew Steele, Scott Wainio (NBC)

Daytime serials: "All My Children," written by Agnes Nixon, Jean Passanante, Craig Carlson, Frederick Johnson, N. Gail Lawrence, Victor Miller, Juliet Law Packer, Addie Walsh, Mimi Leahey, Bettina F. Bradbury, Charlotte Gibson, David Hiltbrand, Janet Iacobuzio, Royal Miller, John Piroman, Rebecca Taylor, Neal Bell (ABC); "Days of Our Lives," written by Tom Langan, Dena Higley, Dorothy Ann Purser, Victor Gialanella, Peter Brash, Paula Cwikly, Frances Myers, Sofia Landon Geier, Jeanne Marie Grunwell, Randy Holland, Edwin Klein, Richard Culliton, Christopher Whitesell, Joyce Rosenblad, Cydney Kelley (NBC); "The Guiding Light," written by Claire Labine, Matt Labine, Eleanor Labine, Tita Bell, Stephanie Braxton, Christopher Dunn, Jill Lorie Hurst, David Kreizman, Penelope Koechl, Danielle Paige, Melissa Salmons, David Smilow (CBS); "The Young and the Restless," written by Kay Alden, Trent Jones, Jerry Birn, John F. Smith, Natalie Minardi, Jim Houghton, Eric Freiwald, Rex M. Best, Janice Ferri, Michael Minnis, Joshua McCaffrey (NBC)


Children's script: "By Dawn's Early Light," written by Jacqueline Feather & David Seidler (Showtime); "Dragonheart: A New Beginning," written by Shari Goodhartz, based on characters created by Patrick Read Johnson and Charles Edward Pogue (Sci-Fi Channel); "Have Your Cake" ("Just Deal"), written by Julie Nathanson (NBC); "My Louisiana Sky," teleplay by Anna Sandor, based on "My Louisiana Sky" by Kimberly Willis Holt, (Showtime); "Pilot" ("Lizzie McGuire"), written by Terri Minsky (The Disney Channel)

Documentary -- current events: "Drug Wars Part 1" ("Frontline"), written by Martin Smith and Brooke Runnette & Oriana Zill, (PBS); "Drug Wars Part 2" ("Frontline"), written by Lowell Bergman & Kenneth Lewis and Doug Hamilton & Oriana Zill (PBS)

Documentary -- other than current events: "Dedicated to Chaos" ("Jazz"), written by Geoffrey C. Ward (PBS); "Finding Lucy" ("American Masters"), written by Thomas Wagner (PBS); "Hitler's Lost Sub" ("Nova"), written by Rushmore DeNooyer (PBS); "Medicating Kids" ("Frontline"), written by Martin Smith (PBS); "Scottsboro, An American Tragedy" ("The American Experience"), written by Barak Goodman (PBS); "Stephen Foster" ("The American Experience"), written by Ken Emerson & Randy MacLowry (PBS)

News -- Regularly scheduled, bulletin or breaking report: "Wedding Disaster," Jonathan Kaplan, CBS-TV (WBBM)

News -- Analysis, feature or commentary: "The Cruelty Connection," Jonathan Kaplan, CBS-TV (WBBM); "Eyewitness to Summer Sun & Storms," Glenn Steinfast, WABC-TV


Radio Nominees:

Radio documentary -- any length: "Eye on Death Row," ("Weekend Roundup"), Wendy Zentz, CBS Radio Network

News -- Regularly scheduled: "The Recount," Paul Farry, CBS Radio Network

News -- Analysis, feature or commentary: "Condemned No More: Life After Death Row," Wendy Zentz, CBS Radio Network; "Dan Rather Reporting: Obscene Journal," Paul Farry, CBS Radio Network; "Hogs" ("Perspective"), Janice Kirkel, ABC News Radio; "Preserving American Sound" ("Perspective"), Scott L. Anderson, ABC News Radio; "Reserved for Father" ("Perspective"), Elizabeth Dribben, ABC News Radio

On-Air promotion: NBC Promotions, Judie Henninger, NBC; NBC Promotions, Lori Sunshine, NBC

The nominated scripts were originally broadcast between Sept. 1, 2000 and Aug. 31, 2001.

The guild will announce the nominees for its feature film prizes on Feb. 7. The 54th Annual WGA Awards will be presented March 2 in ceremonies in Los Angeles and New York. Content: 01016000 01021000 01014000 01022000 02002000 04010000

Latest Headlines


Follow Us