Nominees for 27th annual Saturn Awards

LOS ANGELES, April 4 -- Here is a list of nominees for the Academy of Science Fiction, Fantasy & Horror Films' 27th Annual Saturn Awards:

Best Science Fiction Film: "The Cell"; "The Hollow Man"; "The 6th Day"; "Space Cowboys"; "Titan A.E."; "X-Men"


Best Fantasy Film: "Chicken Run"; "Dinosaur"; "Family Man"; "Frequency"; "Dr. Seuss' How the Grinch Stole Christmas"; "What Women Want"

Best Horror Film: "Dracula 2000"; "Final Destination"; "The Gift"; "Requiem for a Dream"; "Urban Legends: The Final Cut"; "What Lies Beneath"

Best Action/Adventure/Thriller Film: "Charlie's Angels"; "Crouching Tiger, Hidden Dragon"; "Gladiator"; "The Patriot"; "The Perfect Storm"; "Traffic"; "Unbreakable"

Best Actor: Jim Carrey, "Dr. Seuss' How the Grinch Stole Christmas"; Russell Crowe, "Gladiator"; Clint Eastwood, "Space Cowboys"; Chow Yun Fat, "Crouching Tiger, Hidden Dragon"; Hugh Jackman, "X-Men"; Arnold Schwarzenegger, "The 6th Day."

Best Actress: Cate Blanchett, "The Gift"; Ellen Burstyn, "Requiem For a Dream"; Ta Leoni, "Family Man"; Jennifer Lopez, "The Cell"; Michelle Pfeiffer, "What Lies Beneath"; Michelle Yeoh, "Crouching Tiger, Hidden Dragon"


Best Supporting Actor: Jason Alexander, "The Adventures of Rocky & Bullwinkle"; Willem Dafoe, "Shadow of the Vampire"; Dennis Quaid, "Frequency"; Giovanni Ribisi, "The Gift"; Will Smith, "The Legend of Bagger Vance"; Patrick Stewart, "X-Men"

Best Supporting Actress: Cameron Diaz, "Charlie's Angels"; Lucy Liu, "Charlie's Angels"; Rene Russo, "The Adventures of Rocky & Bullwinkle"; Rebecca Romijn-Stamos, "X-Men"; Hilary Swank, "The Gift"; Zhang Ziyi, "Crouching Tiger, Hidden Dragon"

Best Performance by a Younger Actor: Spencer Breslin, "Disney's The Kid"; Holliston Coleman, "Bless The Child"; Jonathan Lipnicki, "The Little Vampire"; Taylor Momsen, "Dr. Seuss' How the Grinch Stole Christmas"; Anna Paquin, "X-Men"; Devon Sawa, "Final Destination"

Best Director: Clint Eastwood, "Space Cowboys"; Ron Howard, "Dr. Seuss' How the Grinch Stole Christmas"; Ang Lee, "Crouching Tiger, Hidden Dragon"; Ridley Scott, "Gladiator"; Bryan Singer, "X-Men"; Robert Zemeckis, "What Lies Beneath"

Best Writing: Toby Emmerich, "Frequency"; David Franzoni, John Logan, William Nicholson, "Gladiator"; David Hayter, "X-Men"; Karey Kirkpatrick, "Chicken Run"; Wang Hui Ling, James Schamus, Tsai Kuo Jung, "Crouching Tiger, Hidden Dragon"; Billy Bob Thornton, Tom Epperson, "The Gift"

Best Music: Tan Dun, Yo-Yo Ma, "Crouching Tiger, Hidden Dragon"; Jerry Goldsmith, "The Hollow Man"; James Horner, "Dr. Seuss' How the Grinch Stole Christmas"; James Newton Howard, "Dinosaur"; Hans Zimmer, Lisa Gerrard, "Gladiator"; Hans Zimmer, John Powell, "The Road to El Dorado"


Best Costume: "Shadow of the Vampire"; "The Cell"; "X-Men"; "Dr. Seuss' How the Grinch Stole Christmas"; "Gladiator"; "Crouching Tiger, Hidden Dragon"

Best Make-Up: "Dr. Seuss' How the Grinch Stole Christmas"; "Nutty Professor II: The Klumps"; "Shadow of the Vampire"; "The Cell"; "The 6th Day"; "X-Men"

Best Special Effects: "The Hollow Man"; "The Perfect Storm"; "X-Men"; "The 6th Day"; "Dr. Seuss' How the Grinch Stole Christmas"

Best Genre Home Video Release: "Ghost Dog: Way of the Samurai"; "Godzilla 2000"; "The Ninth Gate"; "Princess Mononoke"; "The Prophecy 3: The Ascent"; "Scream 3"

Best Network Television Series: "Angel" (WB); "Buffy the Vampire Slayer" (WB); "Dark Angel" (Fox); "Roswell" (WB); "Star Trek: Voyager" (UPN); "The X-Files" (Fox)

Best Syndicated/Cable Television Series: "Gene Roddenberry's Andromeda" (Tribune); "The Beastmaster" (Alliance Atlantis); "Farscape" (Sci Fi Channel/Henson); "The Invisible Man" (Sci Fi Channel); "The Outer Limits" (MGM TV/Showtime); "Stargate: SG-l" (MGM TV/Showtime)

Best Single Television Presentation: "Frank Herbert's Dune" (Sci Fi Channel); "Fail Safe" (CBS); "Jason and the Argonauts" (Hallmark); "Santa Who" (ABC); "Sole Survivor" (Fox); "Witchblade" (TNT)

Best Actor on Television: Richard Dean Anderson, "Stargate SG-1"; Jason Behr, "Roswell"; David Boreanaz, "Angel"; Ben Browder, "Farscape"; Robert Patrick, "The X-Files"; Kevin Sorbo, "Gene Roddenberry's Andromeda"

Best Actress on Television: Jessica Alba, "Dark Angel"; Gillian Anderson, "The X-Files"; Claudia Black, "Farscape"; Charisma Carpenter, "Angel"; Sarah Michelle Gellar, "Buffy the Vampire Slayer"; Kate Mulgrew, "Star Trek: Voyager"


Best Supporting Actor on Television: Alexis Denisof, "Angel"; Brandan Fehr, "Roswell"; Anthony Stewart Head, "Buffy the Vampire Slayer"; James Marsters, "Buffy the Vampire Slayer"; Michael Shanks, "Stargate: SG-1"; Michael Weatherly, "Dark Angel"

Best Supporting Actress on Television: Alyson Hannigan, "Buffy the Vampire Slayer"; Katherine Heigl, "Roswell"; Juliet Landau, "Angel"; Jeri Ryan, "Star Trek: Voyager"; Amanda Tapping, "Stargate: SG-1"; Michelle Trachtenberg, "Buffy the Vampire Slayer"

The ASFFHF will present its Life Career Award to producer Brian Grazer and actor Robert Englund, and director Sam Raimi will receive the George Pal Memorial Award.

The academy also announced that it will present a special achievement award to the theatrical film, "Shadow of the Vampire" -- a fantasy take on the making of the silent classic, "Nosferatu."

The organization has renamed its top honor. It's now the Dr. Donald A. Reed President's Award, in memory of the founder of the academy, who died last month. It will be presented to Dustin Lance Black, a filmmaker who is currently working on a documentary on Reed's life.

The Saturn Awards will be handed out on June 12 in ceremonies in Los Angeles.

Latest Headlines


Follow Us