NAACP Image Award winners

PASADENA, Calif. -- The winners of the 26th annual NAACP Image Awards presented Wednesday were:

Entertainer of the year: Whitney Houston


Hall of Fame: Earth Wind & Fire, Curtis Mayfield, the Pointer Sisters.

Jazz artist: Kenny G, 'Breathless.'

World music artist: B.B. King, 'Blues Summit.'

Gospel artist: The Winans, 'All Out.'

Variety special: 'Sinbad Live from New York: Afros & Bellbottoms,' HBO.

Performer, variety special: Patti Labelle, '1993 Essence Awards.'

Youth or children's series or special: 'Teen Summit: Teens and AIDS, ' Black Entertainment Television.

Performer, youth or children's series or special: LeVar Burton, 'Reading Rainbow.'

Fiction literary work: 'Your Blues Ain't Like Mine,' by Bebe Moore Campbell.

Children's literary work: 'Sojourner Truth: Ain't I a Woman?' by Patricia McKissack and Frederick McKissack.

Outstanding youth actor: Jaleel White, 'Family Matters,' ABC.

Outstanding comedy series: 'Martin,' Fox.

Outstanding actor, comedy series: Martin Lawrence, 'Martin.'

Outstanding actress, comedy series: Jasmine Guy, 'A Different World, ' NBC.

Outstanding drama series: 'I'll Fly on Away,' PBS.

Outstanding actor, drama series: Blair Underwood, 'L.A. Law,' NBC.

Outstanding actress, drama series: Regina Taylor, 'I'll Fly Away.'


Outstanding television movie or miniseries: 'Alex Haley's Queen,' CBS.

Outstanding actor, television movie or miniseries: Danny Glover, 'Alex Haley's Queen.'

Outstanding actress, televsion movie or miniseries: Halle Berry, 'Alex Haley's Queen.'

Outstanding daytime drama series: 'The Young and the Restless,' CBS.

Outstanding actor, daytime drama series: Kristoff St. John, 'The Young and the Restless.'

Outstanding actress: Victoria Rowell, 'The Young and the Restless.'

Outstanding variety series: 'The Arsenio Hall Show.'

Outstanding performance, variety series: Arsenio Hall, 'The Arsenio Hall Show.'

Outstanding new artist: Shai, 'If I ever Fall in Love.'

Oustanding male artist: Luther Vandross, 'Never Let Me Go.'

Outstanding female artist: Whitney Houston, 'The Bodyguard' soundtrack.

Outstanding duo or group: En Vogue, 'Runaway Love.'

Outstanding rap artist: Jazzy Jeff & The Fresh Prince, 'Boom! Shake the Room.'

Outstanding soundtrack album: 'The Bodyguard' soundtrack.

Outstanding album: 'The Bodyguard' soundtrack.

Outstanding music video: 'I'm Every Woman,' Whitney Houston.

Outstanding choreography in film or television: Debbie Allen, 'The 65th Annual Academy Awards.'

Outstanding literary work, nonfiction: ' Any Means Necessary: The Trials and Tribulations of the Making of Malcolm X,' by Spike Lee with Ralph Wiley.


Outstanding supporting actress, motion picture: Angela Bassett, 'Malcolm X.'

Outstanding supporting actor, motion picture: Al Freeman Jr., 'Malcolm X.'

Outstanding lead actress, motion picture: Angela Bassett, 'What's Love Got to Do With It?'

Outstanding lead actor, motion picture: Densel Washington, 'Malcolm X.'

Outstanding motion picture: 'Malcolm X.'

Chairman's award: Kweisi Mfume, D-Md.

Key of Life Award: Willie Edward Gary.

Corporate Award: Soft Sheen Products Inc.

Special youth tribute: Natane Ammons, Johnta Austin, Khari Brown, Sterling Jenkins, Nicole Loudermilk, Joli Thomas.

Latest Headlines