The Pittsburgh Press Thursday won the coveted 1987 Pulitzer...

NEW YORK -- The Pittsburgh Press Thursday won the coveted 1987 Pulitzer Prize for Public Service for a series of stories reviewing the 'inadequacy' of the Federal Aviation Administration's medical screening of airline pilots.

The series by Andrew Schneider and Matthew Brelis 'led to significant reforms,' the Pulitzer Prize Board said.


The Philadelphia Inquirer won three prizes. The New York Times, the Los Angeles Times and the Washington Post Writers Group each won two.

The staff of the Akron, Ohio, Beacon Journal won the 1987 Pulitzer Prize for General News Reporting for its coverage 'under deadline pressure of the attempted takeover of Goodyear Tire and Rubber Co. by a European financier.'

Daniel Biddle, H. G. Bissinger and Frederic Tulsky of the Philadelphia Inquirer won the prize for Investigative Reporting for their series 'Disorder in the Court' that 'revealed transgressions of justice in the Philadelphia court system and led to federal and state investigations.'


Another reporter for the Inquirer, John Woestendiek, won the investigative prize for 'outstanding prison beat reporting which included proving the innocence of a man convicted of murder.'

Jeff Lyon and Peter Gorner of the Chicago Tribune won the prize for Explanatory Journalism for their series 'on the promises of gene therapy which examined the implications of this revolutionary medical treatment.'

Alex Jones of The New York Times won the prize for Specialized Reporting for his story 'The Fall of the House of Bingham,' a 'skillful and sensitive report of a powerful newspaper family's bickering and how it led to the sale of a famed media empire.'

The board awarded two prizes in the National Reporting category. The first went to the staff of The Miami Herald for 'its exclusive reporting and persistent coverage of the U.S.-Iran-Contra connection.'

The second award went to the staff of The New York Times for coverage 'of the aftermath of the Challenger explosion, which included stories that identified serious flaws in the shuttle's design and in the administration of America's space program.'

The prize for International Reporting was awarded to Michael Parks of the Los Angeles Times for his 'balanced and comprehensive coverage of South Africa.'


Steve Twomey of The Philadelphia Inquirer won the prize for Feature Writing for his 'illuminating profile of life aboard an aircraft carrier.'

The prize for Commentary went to Charles Krauthammer of The Washington Post Writers Group for his 'witty and insightful columns on national issues.'

Richard Eder of The Los Angeles Times won the prize for Criticism for his book reviews.

The prize for Editorial Writing was awarded to Jonathan Freedman of The Tribune, San Diego, Calif., for his 'editorials urging passage of the first major immigration reform act in 34 years.'

Berke Breathed of The Washington Post Writers Group won the prize for Editorial Cartooning.

The prize for Spot News Photography was awarded to Kim Komenich of the San Francisco Examiner for his photographic coverage of the fall of Ferdinand Marcos.

The prize for Feature Photography went to David Peterson of The Des Moines Register for photographs depicting the 'shattered dreams of American farmers.'

The Pulitzer Prize Board also awarded a special citation to Joseph Pulitzer Jr. for his 'extraordinary services to American journalism and letters during his 31 years as chairman of the Pulitzer Prize Board and for his accomplishments as an editor and publisher.'

In the literary awards, Peter Taylor won the prize for fiction for his book 'A Summons to Memphis;' August Wilson won the prize for drama for his play 'Fences;' and Bernard Bailyn won the prize for history for his book 'Voyagers to the West: A Passage in the Peopling of America on the Eve of the Revolution.'


David Garrow won the prize for biography for 'Bearing the Cross: Martin Luther King Jr. and the Southern Christian Leadership Conference.'

Rita Dove won the prize for poetry for 'Thomas Beulah.'

David Shipler won the prize for general non-fiction for 'Arab and Jew: Wounded Spirits in a Promised Land.'

John Harbison won the for music for 'The Flight Into Egypt.' The piece premiered Nov. 21 by the Cantata Singers and Ensemble at the New England Conservatory in Boston.

Latest Headlines


Follow Us