O.J. Simpson, the 1968 Heisman Trophy winner from Southern...

NEW YORK -- O.J. Simpson, the 1968 Heisman Trophy winner from Southern California, and former Illinois star Dick Butkus led the list of 10 players inducted into the National Football Foundation College Hall of Fame Tuesday night.

Simpson helped USC into the Rose Bowl in 1967 and 1968 before going on to star in the NFL with the Buffalo Bills.


Butkus, a linebacker, led the Illini into their last Rose Bowl appearance in 1963 before embarking on a Hall of Fame career with the NFL's Chicago Bears.

Also inducted were William 'Moose' Fischer of Notre Dame; Lee Roy Jordan of Alabama; Charlie Krueger of Texas A&M; Lewis 'Bud' McFadin of Texas; Floyd Little of Syracuse; George Owen of Harvard; Jack Scarbath, Maryland, and Albert Sparlis, UCLA.

Also, former coaches Darrell Royal (Texas, Washington and Mississippi State), Frank Broyles (Arkansas and Missouri) and Woody Hayes (Ohio State, Miami of Ohio and Denison) were inducted.

The Foundation also honored 11 present players who excelled in the classroom as well as on the football field.

Those players, who qualify for $3,000 graduate fellowships, are: John Bergen, Stanford; Michael Favorite, Notre Dame; John Frank, Ohio State; Terry Hoage, Georgia; Jeff Hostetler, West Virginia; Stefan Humphries, Michigan; Jeff Kubiak, Air Force; William Obremskey, Duke; Brian O'Meara, Southern Methodist; Anthony Romano, Syracuse, and Steve Young, Brigham Young.


Congressman Jack Kemp of New York, a former Buffalo Bills quarterback, received the Foundation's Gold Medal award. Leon Hess, chairman of the New York Jets, received the Foundation's Distinguished American Award.

Latest Headlines