Fulbright Foreign Scholarship Board elections

On Wednesday, the U.S. Department of State announced that the J. William Fulbright Foreign Scholarship Board had re-elected its chairman to a third term and elected a new vice chair.
Posted By JC Finley Follow @JC_Finley Contact the Author   |   Jan. 29, 2014 at 7:36 PM

WASHINGTON, Jan. 29 (UPI) -- On Wednesday, the U.S. Department of State announced the election results for the 2014 J. William Fulbright Foreign Scholarship Board.

According to the announcement, the Fulbright Board re-elected Tom Healy for a third term as chairman and elected Betty Castor vice chair, succeeding Susan Ness.

The Fulbright Board was established by the U.S. Congress in 1961 to select Fulbright award recipients, set policies, and publish an annual report. The Fulbright Program, sponsored by the State Department, is considered America's "flagship international exchange program."

Fulbright grants have funded 325,000 participants in more than 180 countries to study, teach, conduct research, and find "solutions to shared international challenges."

[State Department]

Like Us on Facebook for more stories from UPI.com  
Related UPI Stories
Top Stories
Why the fake braces trend may be dangerous for users
Jared Leto 'stopped eating' for his 'Dallas Buyer's Club' role
Kelly LeBrock arrested for DUI
Gisele Bundchen, Tom Brady drop $14M on Manhattan home
Brandi Brandt faces drug charges in Australia