Russia closes three border crossings into eastern Ukraine

The National Security and Defense Council of Ukraine announced Wednesday that Russia has closed three border crossings into eastern Ukraine.
By JC Finley Follow @JC_Finley Contact the Author   |   July 2, 2014 at 6:22 PM

KIEV, Ukraine, July 2 (UPI) -- Russia has closed three border crossings along Ukraine's eastern region, the National Security and Defense Council of Ukraine reported Wednesday.

Speaking at a briefing in Kiev, NSDC spokesman Andriy Lysenko announced "Yesterday in the course of the day Russia shut three checkpoints on the border with Ukraine. In particular, on July 1 the international motor vehicle crossing points at Hukovo, Donetsk, and Novoshakhtynsk of Rostov region were closed."

Ukraine, he said, was informed "there is a ban on letting armed militants escaping from the territory of Ukraine through these motor vehicle crossing points."

A spokesman for Russia's Federal Security Service's Border Guard administration confirmed to Interfax-South that the border crossings had been closed due to violent unrest in Ukraine.

The closure of the border crossing comes amid heightened tension between the two countries and repeated requests by Ukraine that Russia stop the flow of fighters and weapons into eastern Ukraine.

Like Us on Facebook for more stories from UPI.com  
Related UPI Stories
Latest Headlines
Top Stories
North Korea blasts arrival of U.S. submarine in South Korean port
Putin reassures PM Alexis Tsipras after 'no' referendum vote in Greece
South Korea rescues 5 North Korean sailors
U.S. lottery lowers portion of cash allocated to jackpot prize
F-16, Cessna planes collide midair in South Carolina, killing two