Harper adds 8 new ministers to Canadian cabinet in reshuffle

July 15, 2013 at 4:29 PM

OTTAWA, July 15 (UPI) -- Canadian Prime Minister Stephen Harper announced the appointment of eight new members to his cabinet Monday as he shuffled portfolios and added new positions.

In a Twitter message before the formal ceremony, Harper said he was naming "four new, strong capable women" to the cabinet, the Canadian Broadcasting Corp. reported.

Harper's cabinet currently has 10 women.

Keeping their jobs are Jim Flaherty as finance minister and John Baird as foreign affairs minister. Also retaining their positions are Tony Clements as Treasury Board president and Ed Fast as trade minister.

Ministers new to the cabinet are Shelly Glover, Canadian heritage and official languages; Chris Alexander, citizenship and immigration; Kellie Leitch, labor and the status of women, and Kevin Sorenson, finance minister.

Also new are Pierre Poilievre, democratic reform; Candice Bergen, social development; Greg Rickford, science and technology; and Michelle Rempel, western economic diversification.

Like Us on Facebook for more stories from UPI.com  
Related UPI Stories
Latest Headlines
Top Stories
Israeli military calls up reserves for surprise drill
Kim Jong Un pays respects to China's fallen soldiers
No reports of injuries after 6.9-magnitude earthquake in Alaska
Oklahoma Supreme Court denies rehearing, again orders removal of Ten Commandments statue
Plane crash kills four in Wisconsin