Harper adds 8 new ministers to Canadian cabinet in reshuffle

July 15, 2013 at 4:29 PM

OTTAWA, July 15 (UPI) -- Canadian Prime Minister Stephen Harper announced the appointment of eight new members to his cabinet Monday as he shuffled portfolios and added new positions.

In a Twitter message before the formal ceremony, Harper said he was naming "four new, strong capable women" to the cabinet, the Canadian Broadcasting Corp. reported.

Harper's cabinet currently has 10 women.

Keeping their jobs are Jim Flaherty as finance minister and John Baird as foreign affairs minister. Also retaining their positions are Tony Clements as Treasury Board president and Ed Fast as trade minister.

Ministers new to the cabinet are Shelly Glover, Canadian heritage and official languages; Chris Alexander, citizenship and immigration; Kellie Leitch, labor and the status of women, and Kevin Sorenson, finance minister.

Also new are Pierre Poilievre, democratic reform; Candice Bergen, social development; Greg Rickford, science and technology; and Michelle Rempel, western economic diversification.

Related UPI Stories
Latest Headlines
Trending Stories
Pepsi to launch own smartphone
History Channel special reveals Alcatraz escapees may have survived
Multiple attacks escalate Jerusalem violence; gun restrictions could ease
Genetic changes could make pig organs usable for human transplant
Five Democratic presidential candidates meet in Las Vegas for first debate