Russia bans more U.S. residents

Jan. 29, 2013 at 5:54 PM

MOSCOW, Jan. 29 (UPI) -- Russia has added more names to a list of U.S. residents banned from entering the country, Foreign Minister Sergei Lavrov said Tuesday.

Lavrov said the government would not release the identities of those on the list, RIA Novosti reported.

The list was part of a law banning U.S. adoptions of Russian children that passed the Duma last year. The "Dima Yakovlev law" was a response to the U.S. "Serge Magnitsky Act," which imposes sanctions of Russian officials deemed to be human rights violators and was named after a lawyer who died in police custody in Moscow.

A spokesman said the Russian list originally included the names of 11 officials involved in mistreating detainees at the U.S. base in Guantanamo, Cuba. Those added to the list include officials involved in the U.S. prosecution of two Russian citizens and people who have mistreated Russian adoptees.

The newspaper Vedimosti reported last week that one group of people not on the list are political elected or appointed officials like former Vice President Dick Cheney and former Secretary of State Condoleeza Rice.

"Logically, Cheney and Rice must not be on the list, as this could have spoiled the diplomatic relations between the two countries," Leonid Kalashnikov, first deputy chairman of the Duma International Affairs Committee, said.

Like Us on Facebook for more stories from UPI.com  
Related UPI Stories
Latest Headlines
Top Stories
Kurds plan to carve state out of Iraq after fighting stops, leaders say
U.S. airstrike kills one of first Islamic State members in Syria
Former Russian oligarch Sergei Pugachyov suing kremlin for $15 billlion
Van hauling fireworks catches fire on I-15 near California-Nevada border
July 4 terror threats an annual but necessary ritual, experts say