Tsunami warning issued for Pacific area

March 11, 2011 at 3:06 AM

SYDNEY, March 11 (UPI) -- The Pacific Tsunami Warning Center issued a tsunami warning for a wide area in the Pacific following Friday's 8.9 magnitude earthquake off Japan's east coast.

The area covered by the warning included Japan, Russia, Marcus Island, North Marianas, Guam, Wake Island and Taiwan, as well as Yap, the Philippines, the Marshall Islands and Belau.

The warning was also posted for Midway Island, Pohnpei, Chuuk, Kosrae, Indonesia, Papua New Guinea, Nauru, Johnston Island, the Solomon Islands, Kiribati, Howland-Baker and Hawaii, as well as Tuvalu, Palmyra Island, Vanuatu, Tokelau, Jarvis Island, Wallis-Futuna, Samoa, and American Samoa.

Cook Islands, Niue, Australia, Fiji, New Caledonia, Tonga, Mexico, the Kermadec Islands, French Polynesia, New Zealand and Pitcairn were also affected.

The area covered by the warning also included much of Central America and South America, with Guatemala, El Salvador, Costa Rica, Nicaragua, Panama, Honduras, Chile, Ecuador, Colombia and Peru cautioned about possible tsunami dangers. The warning also covered Antarctica.

Related UPI Stories
Latest Headlines
Top Stories
Hyon Yong Chol disparaged Kim Jong Un prior to execution, analyst says
Officials debate 'when to suspend' search for missing Florida boys
Napa Valley fire reignites, hundreds more evacuated
In Khamenei Tweet, man resembling Obama holds gun to head
Taliban leader Mullah Omar confirmed dead