Denver City Council OKs easing of some pot possession laws

Dec. 24, 2013 at 12:35 PM

DENVER, Dec. 24 (UPI) -- The Denver City Council has passed a measure reducing punishment for possession of an ounce or less of marijuana for people age 18 to 21.

The council voted Monday to reduce the penalty to $150 for a first offense, $500 for a second offense and $999 for offenses after that, the Denver Post reported.

Previously, penalties included higher fines and the possibility of a sentence of as much as a year in jail.

Colorado voters approved a referendum in 2012 legalizing marijuana for adult use.

The Colorado Department of Revenue issued rules in September covering licensing, inventory tracking, advertising and an assortment of other regulations on the marijuana market.

Marijuana stores, cultivation and manufacturers will be licensed and, until October 2014, recreational pot stores must grow nearly all the marijuana they sell. In addition, an online tracking system must be used to document the product's journey from cultivation to processing to sale.

The rules are designed to "create a robust regulatory and enforcement environment that protects public safety," officials said.

Like Us on Facebook for more stories from UPI.com  
Related UPI Stories
Topics: Marijuana
Latest Headlines
Top Stories
Texas man killed in apparent alligator attack
Police arrest N.C. soldier with assault rifle headed to mall photo shoot
North Korean biochemical weapons researcher defects to Europe
Four accused in slave-labor trafficking ring on Ohio egg farm
Fewer people consider themselves 'extremely proud' to be American than decade ago