Democrats keep New Mexico Senate seat

Nov. 7, 2012 at 12:09 AM

SANTA FE, N.M., Nov. 7 (UPI) -- President Barack Obama carried New Mexico in his Electoral College victory, and the Democrats also hung on to Sen. Jeff Bingaman's seat, NBC projected Tuesday.

With 70 percent of the votes counted, the president led Republican nominee Mitt Romney with 53 percent of the vote to 43 percent.

Rep. Martin Heinrich, D-N.M., was called the winner of the U.S. Senate battle for the seat held by the retiring Bingaman, D-N.M. Heinrich, who was considered the favorite, had 52 percent of the vote to 45 percent for Republican former Rep. Heather Wilson.

The Democrats also won two of the three House races in New Mexico.

Michelle Lujan Grisham prevailed against Republican Janice Arnold-Jones in District 1 with 58 percent of the vote to 42 percent. Ben Lujan easily defeated Republican Jefferson Byrd in District 3.

Republican Steve Pearce won comfortably over Evelyn Erhard in District 2.

Like Us on Facebook for more stories from UPI.com  
Latest Headlines
Top Stories
Maine man dead after shooting firework off head, police say
'Serial stowaway' arrested again at Chicago's O'Hare, Midway airports
Greeks vote overwhelmingly to reject creditors' bailout
Russian resupply spacecraft docks onto ISS to deliver needed provisions
Third disturbance in four days erupts at Arizona prison