Voters to tap candidates for Giffords seat

April 17, 2012 at 10:13 AM
| License Photo

TUCSON, April 17 (UPI) -- Voters in Arizona's 8th Congressional District vote in a primary Tuesday to pick candidates to complete former U.S. Rep. Gabrielle Giffords' term.

Four Republican candidates are competing to be the party's nominee -- Frank Antenori, Jesse Kelly, Martha McSally and Dave Sitton, the Arizona Daily Star in Tucson reported.

Democrat Ron Barber and Green Party candidate Charlie Manolakis are unopposed on their party ballots.

Giffords, a Democrat, officially resigned from Congress in January to focus on recovering from a gunshot wound she got during a 2011 shooting spree. Giffords was shot in the head during a meet-and-greet event in January 2011 outside a Tucson grocery store. Six people were killed and 13 people, including Giffords, were injured.

The special election is June 12.

Related UPI Stories
Latest Headlines
Trending Stories
Ted Cruz campaign pulls ad featuring softcore porn actress
Report: Clinton Foundation subpoenaed by State Dept. watchdog over charity projects
Ruby Rose, Gigi Hadid react to Kanye West's lyric about Taylor Swift
Kristen Wiig impersonates Peyton Manning on 'The Tonight Show'
NYC police officer found guilty of manslaughter in Brooklyn stairway shooting