List of Nobel Prize in Medicine winners

Oct. 8, 2012 at 6:00 AM

STOCKHOLM, Sweden, Oct. 8 (UPI) -- List of Nobel Prize in Physiology or Medicine winners:

2012 -- John B. Gurdon, England; Shinya Yamanaka, Japan

2011 -- Bruce A. Beutler, United States; Jules A. Hoffman, Luxembourg; Ralph M. Steinman, Canada

2010 -- Robert Edwards, Great Britain

2009 -- Elizabeth H. Blackburn, United States; Carol W. Greider, United States; Jack W. Szostak, United States

2008 -- Harald zur Hausen, Germany; Francoise Barre-Sinoussi, France; Luc Montagnier, France

2007 -- Mario R. Capecchi, United States; Martin J. Evans, United Kingdom; Oliver Smithies, United States

2006 -- Andrew Z. Fire, United States; Craig C. Mello, United States

2005 -- Barry J. Marshall, Australia; J. Robin Warren, Australia

2004 -- Richard Axel, United States; Linda B. Buck, United States

2003 -- Paul C. Lauterbur, United States; Peter Mansfield, United Kingdom

2002 -- Sydney Brenner, United Kingdom; H. Robert Horvitz, United States; John E. Sulston, United Kingdom

2001 -- Leland H. Hartwell, United States; Tim Hunt, United Kingdom; Paul Nurse, United Kingdom

2000 -- Arvid Carlsson, Sweden; Paul Greengard, United States; Eric R. Kandel, United States

1999 -- Gunter Blobel, United States

1998 -- Robert F. Furchgott, United States; Louis J. Ignarro, United States; Ferid Murad, United States

1997 -- Stanley B. Prusiner, United States

1996 -- Peter C. Doherty, Australia; Rolf M. Zinkernagel, Switzerland

1995 -- Edward B. Lewis, United States; Christiane Nusslein-Volhard, Germany; Eric F. Wieschaus, United States

1994 -- Alfred G. Gilman, United States; Martin Rodbell, United States

1993 -- Richard J. Roberts, United Kingdom; Phillip A. Sharp, United States

1992 -- Edmond H. Fischer, Switzerland and United States; Edwin G. Krebs, United States

1991 -- Erwin Neher, Germany; Bert Sakmann, Germany

1990 -- Joseph E. Murray, United States; E. Donnall Thomas, United States

1989 -- J. Michael Bishop, United States; Harold E. Varmus, United States

1988 -- James W. Black, United Kingdom; Gertrude B. Elion, United States; George H. Hitchings, United States

1987 -- Susumu Tonegawa, Japan

1986 -- Stanley Cohen, United States; Rita Levi-Montalcini, Italy and United States

1985 -- Michael S. Brown, United States; Joseph L. Goldstein, United States

1984 -- Niels K. Jerne, Denmark; Georges J.F. Kohler, Germany; Cesar Milstein, Argentina and United Kingdom

1983 -- Barbara McClintock, United States

1982 -- Sune K. Bergstrom, Sweden; Bengt I. Samuelsson, Sweden; John R. Vane, United Kingdom

1981 -- Roger W. Sperry, United States; David H. Hubel, United States; Torsten N. Wiesel, Sweden

1980 -- Baruj Benacerraf, United States; Jean Dausset, France; George D. Snell, United States

1979 -- Allan M. Cormack, United States; Godfrey N. Hounsfield, United Kingdom

1978 -- Werner Arber, Switzerland; Daniel Nathans, United States; Hamilton O. Smith, United States

1977 -- Roger Guillemin, United States; Andrew V. Schally, United States; Rosalyn Yalow, United States

1976 -- Baruch S. Blumberg, United States; D. Carleton Gajdusek, United States

1975 -- David Baltimore, United States; Renato Dulbecco, United States; Howard M. Temin, United States

1974 -- Albert Claude, Belgium; Christian de Duve, Belgium; George E. Palade, United States

1973 -- Karl von Frisch, Germany; Konrad Lorenz, Austria; Nikolaas Tinbergen, United Kingdom

1972 -- Gerald M. Edelman, United States; Rodney R. Porter, United Kingdom

1971 -- Earl W. Sutherland, Jr., United States

1970 -- Bernard Katz, United Kingdom; Ulf von Euler, Sweden; Julius Axelrod, United States

1969 -- Max Delbruck, United States; Alfred D. Hershey, United States; Salvador E. Luria, United States

1968 -- Robert W. Holley, United States; H. Gobind Khorana, United States; Marshall W. Nirenberg, United States

1967 -- Ragnar Granit, Sweden; Haldan K. Hartline, United States; George Wald, United States

1966 -- Peyton Rous, United States; Charles B. Huggins, United States

1965 -- Francois Jacob, France; Andre Lwoff, France; Jacques Monod, France

1964 -- Konrad Bloch, United States; Feodor Lynen, Germany

1963 -- John Eccles, Australia; Alan L. Hodgkin, United Kingdom; Andrew F. Huxley, United Kingdom

1962 -- Francis Crick, United Kingdom; James Watson, United States; Maurice Wilkins, United Kingdom and New Zealand

1961 -- Georg von Bekesy, United States

1960 -- Frank Macfarlane Burnet, Australia; Peter Medawar, United Kingdom

1959 -- Severo Ochoa, United States; Arthur Kornberg, United States

1958 -- George Beadle, United States; Edward Tatum, United States; Joshua Lederberg, United States

1957 -- Daniel Bovet, Italy

1956 -- Andre F. Cournand, United States; Werner Forssmann, Germany; Dickinson W. Richards, United States

1955 -- Hugo Theorell, Sweden

1954 -- John F. Enders, United States; Thomas H. Weller, United States; Frederick C. Robbins, United States

1953 -- Hans Krebs, United Kingdom; Fritz Lipmann, United States

1952 -- Selman A. Waksman, United States

1951 -- Max Theiler, South Africa

1950 -- Edward C. Kendall, United States; Tadeus Reichstein, Switzerland; Philip S. Hench, United States

1949 -- Walter Hess, Switzerland; Egas Moniz, Portugal

1948 -- Paul Mueller, Switzerland

1947 -- Carl Cori, United States; Gerty Cori, United States; Bernardo Houssay, Argentina

1946 -- Hermann J. Muller, United States

1945 -- Alexander Fleming, United Kingdom; Ernst B. Chain, United Kingdom; Howard Florey, Australia

1944 -- Joseph Erlanger, United States; Herbert S. Gasser, United States

1943 -- Henrik Dam, Denmark; Edward A. Doisy, United States

1942 -- No prize awarded

1941 -- No prize awarded

1940 -- No prize awarded

1939 -- Gerhard Domagk, Germany

1938 -- Corneille Heymans, Belgium

1937 -- Albert Szent-Gyorgyi, Hungary

1936 -- Henry Dale, United Kingdom; Otto Loewi, Austria

1935 -- Hans Spemann, Germany

1934 -- George H. Whipple, United States; George R. Minot, United States; William P. Murphy, United States

1933 -- Thomas H. Morgan, United States

1932 -- Charles Sherrington, United Kingdom; Edgar Adrian, United Kingdom

1931 -- Otto Warburg, Germany

1930 -- Karl Landsteiner, Austria

1929 -- Christiaan Eijkman, Netherlands; Frederick Hopkins, United Kingdom

1928 -- Charles Nicolle, France

1927 -- Julius Wagner-Jauregg, Austria

1926 -- Johannes Fibiger, Denmark

1925 -- No prize awarded

1924 -- Willem Einthoven, Netherlands

1923 -- Frederick G. Banting, Canada; John Macleod, Canada

1922 -- Archibald V. Hill, United Kingdom; Otto Meyerhof, Germany

1921 -- No prize awarded

1920 -- August Krogh, Denmark

1919 -- Jules Bordet, Belgium

1918 -- No prize awarded

1917 -- No prize awarded

1916 -- No prize awarded

1915 -- No prize awarded

1914 -- Robert Barany, Austria

1913 -- Charles Richet, France

1912 -- Alexis Carrel, France

1911 -- Allvar Gullstrand, Sweden

1910 -- Albrecht Kossel, Germany

1909 -- Theodor Kocher, Switzerland

1908 -- Ilya Mechnikov, Russia; Paul Ehrlich, Germany

1907 -- Alphonse Laveran, France

1906 -- Camillo Golgi, Italy; Santiago Ramon y Cajal, Spain

1905 -- Robert Koch, Germany

1904 -- Ivan Pavlov, Russia

1903 -- Niels Ryberg Finsen, Denmark

1902 -- Ronald Ross, United Kingdom

1901 -- Emil von Behring, Germany

Related UPI Stories
Latest Headlines
Trending Stories
Ted Cruz campaign pulls ad featuring softcore porn actress
Report: Clinton Foundation subpoenaed by State Dept. watchdog over charity projects
Ruby Rose, Gigi Hadid react to Kanye West's lyric about Taylor Swift
Kristen Wiig impersonates Peyton Manning on 'The Tonight Show'
NYC police officer found guilty of manslaughter in Brooklyn stairway shooting