List of Nobel Prize in Physics winners

Oct. 4, 2011 at 5:57 AM

STOCKHOLM, Sweden, Oct. 4 (UPI) -- List of Nobel Prize in Physics winners:

2011 -- Saul Perlmutter, United States; Adam G. Riess, United States; Brian P. Schmidt, Australia

2010 -- Andre Geim, Netherlands; Konstantin Novoselov, England and Russia

2009 -- Charles Kao, United Kingdom and United States; Willard Boyle, Canada and United States; George Smith, United States

2008 -- Yoichiro Nambu, United States; Makoto Kobayashi, Japan; Toshihide Maskawa, Japan

2007 -- Albert Fert, France; Peter Grunberg, Germany

2006 -- John C. Mather, United States; George F. Smoot, United States

2005 -- Roy J. Glauber, United States; John L. Hall, United States; Theodor W. Hansch, Germany

2004 -- David J. Gross, United States; H. David Politzer, United States; Frank Wilczek, United States

2003 -- Alexei A. Abrikosov, United States and Russia; Vitaly L. Ginzburg, Russia; Anthony J. Leggett, United Kingdom and United States

2002 -- Raymond Davis Jr., United States; Masatoshi Koshiba, Japan; Riccardo Giacconi, United States

2001 -- Eric A. Cornell, United States; Wolfgang Ketterle, Germany; Carl E. Wieman, United States

2000 -- Zhores I. Alferov, Russia; Herbert Kroemer, Germany; Jack S. Kilby, United States

1999 -- Gerardus 't Hooft, Netherlands; Martinus J.G. Veltman, Netherlands

1998 -- Robert B. Laughlin, United States; Horst L. Stormer, Germany; Daniel C. Tsui, United States

1997 -- Steven Chu, United States; Claude Cohen-Tannoudji, France; William D. Phillips, United States

1996 -- David M. Lee, United States; Douglas D. Osheroff, United States; Robert C. Richardson, United States

1995 -- Martin L. Perl, United States; Frederick Reines, United States

1994 -- Bertram N. Brockhouse, Canada; Clifford G. Shull, United States

1993 -- Russell A. Hulse, United States; Joseph H. Taylor Jr., United States

1992 -- Georges Charpak, France

1991 -- Pierre-Gilles de Gennes, France

1990 -- Jerome I. Friedman, United States; Henry W. Kendall, United States; Richard E. Taylor, Canada

1989 -- Norman F. Ramsey, United States; Hans G. Dehmelt, United States; Wolfgang Paul, Germany

1988 -- Leon M. Lederman, United States; Melvin Schwartz, United States; Jack Steinberger, United States

1987 -- J. Georg Bednorz, Germany, K. Alex Muller, Switzerland

1986 -- Ernst Ruska, Germany; Gerd Binnig, Germany; Heinrich Rohrer, Switzerland

1985 -- Klaus von Klitzing, Germany

1984 -- Carlo Rubbia, Italy; Simon van der Meer, Netherlands

1983 -- Subramanyan Chandrasekhar, United States; William A. Fowler, United States

1982 -- Kenneth G. Wilson, United States

1981 -- Nicolaas Bloembergen, United States; Arthur L. Schawlow, United States; Kai M. Siegbahn, Sweden

1980 -- James Cronin, United States; Val Fitch, United States

1979 -- Sheldon Glashow, United States; Abdus Salam, Pakistan; Steven Weinberg, United States

1978 -- Pyotr Kapitsa, Soviet Union; Arno Penzias, United States; Robert Woodrow Wilson, United States

1977 -- Philip W. Anderson, United States; Nevill F. Mott, United Kingdom; John H. van Vleck, United States

1976 -- Burton Richter, United States; Samuel C.C. Ting, United States

1975 -- Aage N. Bohr, Denmark; Ben R. Mottelson, Denmark; James Rainwater, United States

1974 -- Martin Ryle, Uited Kingdom; Antony Hewish, United Kingdom

1973 -- Leo Esaki, Japan; Ivar Giaever, United States; Brian D. Josephson, United Kingdom

1972 -- John Bardeen, United States; Leon N. Cooper, United States; Robert Schrieffer, United States

1971 -- Dennis Gabor, United Kingdom

1970 -- Hannes Alfven, Sweden; Louis Neel, France

1969 -- Murray Gell-Mann, United States

1968 -- Luis Alvarez, United States

1967 -- Hans Bethe, United States

1966 -- Alfred Kastler, France

1965 -- Sin-Itiro Tomonaga, Japan; Julian Schwinger, United States; Richard P. Feynman, United States

1964 -- Charles H. Townes, United States; Nicolay G. Basov, Soviet Union; Aleksandr M. Prokhorov, Soviet Union

1963 -- Eugene Wigner, United States; Maria Goeppert-Mayer, United States; J. Hans D. Jensen, Germany

1962 -- Lev Landau, Soviet Union

1961 -- Robert Hofstadter, United States; Rudolf Mossbauer, Germany

1960 -- Donald A. Glaser, United States

1959 -- Emilio Segre, United States; Owen Chamberlain, United States

1958 -- Pavel A. Cherenkov, Soviet Union; Il´ja M. Frank, Soviet Union; Igor Y. Tamm, Soviet Union

1957 -- Chen Ning Yang, China; Tsung-Dao Lee, China

1956 -- William B. Shockley, United States; John Bardeen, United States; Walter H. Brattain, United States

1955 -- Willis E. Lamb, United States; Polykarp Kusch, United States

1954 -- Max Born, United Kingdom; Walther Bothe, Germany

1953 -- Frits Zernike, Netherlands

1952 -- Felix Bloch, United States; E. M. Purcell, United States

1951 -- John Cockcroft, United Kingdom; Ernest T.S. Walton, Ireland

1950 -- Cecil Powell, United Kingdom

1949 -- Hideki Yukawa, Japan

1948 -- Patrick M.S. Blackett, United Kingdom

1947 -- Edward V. Appleton, United Kingdom

1946 -- Percy W. Bridgman, United States

1945 -- Wolfgang Pauli, Austria

1944 -- Isidor Isaac Rabi, United States

1943 -- Otto Stern, United States

1942 -- No prize awarded

1941 -- No prize awarded

1940 -- No prize awarded

1939 -- Ernest Lawrence, United States

1938 -- Enrico Fermi, Italy

1937 -- Clinton Davisson, United States; George Paget Thomson, United Kingdom

1936 -- Victor F. Hess, Austria; Carl D. Anderson, United States

1935 -- James Chadwick, United Kingdom

1934 -- No prize awarded

1933 -- Erwin Schrodinger, Austria; Paul A.M. Dirac, United Kingdom

1932 -- Werner Heisenberg, Germany

1931 -- No prize awarded

1930 -- Venkata Raman, India

1929 -- Louis de Broglie, France

1928 -- Owen Willans Richardson, United Kingdom

1927 -- Arthur H. Compton, United States; C.T.R. Wilson, United Kingdom

1926 -- Jean Baptiste Perrin, France

1925 -- James Franck, Germany; Gustav Hertz, Germany

1924 -- Manne Siegbahn, Sweden

1923 -- Robert A. Millikan, United States

1922 -- Niels Bohr, Denmark

1921 -- Albert Einstein, Germany and Switzerland

1920 -- Charles Edouard Guillaume, Switzerland

1919 -- Johannes Stark, Germany

1918 -- Max Planck, Germany

1917 -- Charles Glover Barkla, United Kingdom

1916 -- No prize awarded

1915 -- William Bragg, United Kingdom; Lawrence Bragg, United Kingdom

1914 -- Max von Laue, Germany

1913 -- Heike Kamerlingh Onnes, Netherlands

1912 -- Gustaf Dalen, Sweden

1911 -- Wilhelm Wien, Germany

1910 -- Johannes Diderik van der Waals, Netherlands

1909 -- Guglielmo Marconi, Italy; Ferdinand Braun, Germany

1908 -- Gabriel Lippmann, France

1907 -- Albert A. Michelson, United States

1906 -- J.J. Thomson, United Kingdom

1905 -- Philipp Lenard, Germany

1904 -- John William Strutt, United Kingdom

1903 -- Henri Becquerel, France; Pierre Curie, France; Marie Curie, France

1902 -- Hendrik A. Lorentz, Netherlands; Pieter Zeeman, Netherlands

1901 -- Wilhelm Conrad Roentgen, Germany

Like Us on Facebook for more stories from UPI.com  
Related UPI Stories
Latest Headlines
Top Stories
Texas man killed in apparent alligator attack
Kentucky clerk sued for refusing to issue same-sex marriage licenses
Police arrest N.C. soldier with assault rifle headed to mall photo shoot
North Korean biochemical weapons researcher defects to Europe
Four accused in slave-labor trafficking ring on Ohio egg farm