Kyl, Alexander elected to GOP posts

Dec. 6, 2007 at 1:31 PM

WASHINGTON, Dec. 6 (UPI) -- Sen. Lamar Alexander, R-Tenn., was elected Republican Conference chairman Thursday, defeating Sen. Richard Burr, R-N.C.

Alexander's move to the third top spot in the Republican hierarchy came about when Sen. Trent Lott, R-Miss., announced his retirement by the end of 2006 and stepped down as minority whip.

Sen. Jon Kyl, R-Ariz., was appointed as minority whip to take over from Lott, while Alexander moved up to conference chairman to succeed Kyl.

"I assured my colleagues that I would work as hard as Trent, that I would do everything I could to assist our leader in the work that we have to do in the remaining days of this session and of course throughout the next session," Kyl said during a news conference with Alexander and Senate Minority Leader Mitch McConnell, R-Ky.

Alexander described his job as helping the caucus "express our beliefs and our principles in a way that rallies Republicans but attracts Democrats and independents."

Alexander was elected conference chair on a 31-to-16 vote. Kyl was unopposed in seeking the minority whip position.

Follow us on Facebook, Twitter, and Instagram for more news from
Related UPI Stories
share with facebook
share with twitter
Trending Stories