Powell, three others resign

Nov. 15, 2004 at 11:55 AM

WASHINGTON, Nov. 15 (UPI) -- Secretary of State Colin Powell and three other Cabinet secretaries have resigned from the Bush administration, the White House announced Monday.

The others were Energy Secretary Spencer Abraham, Agriculture Secretary Ann Veneman and Education Secretary Rod Paige.

No replacement announcements were made and all have indicated they would stay on the job until successors receive Senate confirmation.

All resigned last week except for Paige, who resigned Nov. 5.

Powell, a career military officer and former chairman of the Joint Chiefs of Staff, resigned Friday by mutual agreement with President Bush, who after re-election said Cabinet changes were "inevitable."

Powell Friday is slated to travel to Egypt for a conference on Iraq and has indicated he intends to continue concentrating on Iraq, the Middle East peace process and North Korea until his departure from the administration.

Related UPI Stories
Latest Headlines
Trending Stories
Ted Cruz campaign pulls ad featuring softcore porn actress
Report: Clinton Foundation subpoenaed by State Dept. watchdog over charity projects
Ruby Rose, Gigi Hadid react to Kanye West's lyric about Taylor Swift
Kristen Wiig impersonates Peyton Manning on 'The Tonight Show'
NYC police officer found guilty of manslaughter in Brooklyn stairway shooting