White House announces award recipients

Nov. 12, 2003 at 4:39 PM

WASHINGTON, Nov. 12 (UPI) -- President George W. and Laura Bush presented the 2003 National Medal of Arts Wednesday at a ceremony inside the Oval Office.

The 2003 winners of the medal are:

--Mac Christensen, president of the Mormon Tabernacle Choir, accepting on behalf of the choir;

--Beverly Cleary, author of numerous children's books including Ramona the Pest and Henry Huggins;

--Rafe Esquith, an arts educator and fifth grade teacher from Los Angeles;

--Dancer Suzanne Farrell;

--Blues great Buddy Guy;

--Actor and director Ron Howard;

--National Symphony Conductor Leonard Slatkin, who accepted on behalf of the NSO;

--Evan Andrew Smith, the chairman of the board of the public television station in Austin, Texas for its program, "Austin City Limits;"

--Singer, songwriter George Strait, and

--Director, actor, dancer and choreographer Tommy Tune.

The awards are given annually by the president's committee on the arts and humanities of which first lady Laura Bush is the honorary chairman.

Related UPI Stories
Latest Headlines
Trending Stories
Chelsea Clinton accidentally calls Bernie 'President Sanders'
Watch every star-studded Super Bowl commercial of 2016
Susan Sarandon responds to Piers Morgan criticizing cleavage
Two Virginia Tech students plotted 13-year-old's death, prosecutors said
Colin Powell, Condoleezza Rice got classified email on private accounts