Phoenix, Tampa, Fla., to host football national title games

Dec. 16, 2013 at 6:45 PM

IRVING, Texas, Dec. 16 (UPI) -- Phoenix will host the 2016 college football national championship game and Tampa, Fla., has landed the honors for 2017 in selections announced Monday.

The College Football Playoff selection committee said the 2016 title game will be played at University of Phoenix Stadium, home of the Arizona Cardinals NFL team, on Jan. 11, 2016.

That year, the Orange Bowl and the Cotton Bowl will host the national semifinals.

Meanwhile, Tampa's Raymond James Stadium will be the site of the following year's title game on Jan. 9, 2017. The Chick-fil-A Bowl and Fiesta Bowl will serve as the national semifinals.

The new, four-team playoff format will replace the Bowl Championship Series rankings in determining college football's top team starting next season.

The first national championship under the new system will be held Jan. 12, 2015, at AT&T Stadium in Dallas, home of the NFL's Cowboys. The Rose Bowl and the Sugar Bowl will host the inaugural national semifinals.

Like Us on Facebook for more stories from UPI.com  
Topics: Rose Bowl
Latest Headlines
Top Stories
UPI Horse Racing Weekend Preview
Report: Aldridge steps back to consider plans
First shoe drops in St. Louis Cardinals' hacking scandal
Rodriguez, New York Yankees agree on bonuses going to charity
Miami Heat sign first-round F Winslow