17-member class announced for college Hall of Fame

May 7, 2013 at 1:24 PM

NEW YORK, May 7 (UPI) -- Three Heisman Trophy winners -- Ron Dayne, Vinny Testaverde and Danny Wuerffel -- head a 17-person class for induction into the college football Hall of Fame.

Dayne, who rushed for 7,000 yards at Wisconsin, won the Heisman in 1999. Testaverde, the 1986 winner, was 23-3 as the starting quarterback at Miami (Fla.). Wuerffel led Florida to the national championship when he won the Heisman in 1996.

Two coaches are included in the 2013 induction class. They are Bill McCartney, who was 93-55-5 in 13 seasons at Colorado, and Wayne Hardin coached at Navy and Temple, going 80-50-3.

Other players to be inducted are: Nebraska quarterback Tommie Frazier; Ohio State offensive tackle Orlando Pace; Arizona defensive end Tedy Bruschi; North Carolina State tailback Ted Brown; Texas defensive back Jerry Gray; Kentucky end Steve Meilinger; Oklahoma linebacker Rod Shoate; Michigan State linebacker Percy Snow; and Baylor quarterback Don Trull.

Induction ceremonies are scheduled for Dec. 10 in New York.

Related UPI Stories
Latest Headlines
Trending Stories
SB50: Denver Broncos face tough call at QB in 2016
Johnny Manziel's ex-girlfriend claims he hit her
NFLPA hopes to have independent arbitration for player discipline next season
Watch every star-studded Super Bowl commercial of 2016
Group recreates 'Mario Kart' video game at UK mall