COL BKB: Baylor 74, Iowa 54

April 4, 2013 at 11:59 PM   |   Comments

NEW YORK, April 4 (UPI) -- Cory Jefferson led Baylor with 23 points Thursday and the Bears broke the game open in the second half to crush Iowa 74-54 and win the NIT.

It was the first post-season championship of any kind for the Baylor men's basketball program and came one year after the women's team from the school had captured its second NCAA title.

The Bears hit 54 percent from the field and held Iowa to 27 percent.

Iowa was within a point 2:30 deep into the second half when the Bears embarked on a 30-12 run over an 11-minute stretch.

Pierre Jackson added 17 points and 10 assists while Isaiah Austin had 15 points for the Bears (23-14). Baylor defeated Long Beach State, Arizona State, Providence and Brigham Young to reach the championship game.

Iowa (25-13) was led by 12 points from Aaron White. Roy Devyn Marble, who had been averaging 24 points a game during the tournament, scored just six points while going 3-of-12 from the field.

© 2013 United Press International, Inc. All Rights Reserved. Any reproduction, republication, redistribution and/or modification of any UPI content is expressly prohibited without UPI's prior written consent.
Most Popular
UPI Sports Schedule for Saturday, October 25
UPI Sports Results for October 24, 2014 UPI Sports Results for October 24, 2014
NCAA Game Summary - Central Michigan at Buffalo
NCAA Game Summary - Michigan at Michigan State
LSU rallies, pins first loss on No. 3 Ole Miss
Trending News
Around the Web