IIHF will change 'dislodged net' rule after U.S.A. v. Russia game

The disallowed Russian goal in the U.S. v. Russia hockey game led to a U.S. 3-2 win in a shootout and caused many angry reactions over the referee's call.
By Aileen Graef   |   Feb. 18, 2014 at 3:50 PM   |   Comments

SOCHI, Russia, Feb. 18 (UPI) -- The International Ice Hockey Federation will change the "dislodged net" after the controversial call that led to a U.S. victory over Russia.

According to the IIHF handbook, the call made by the referee was correct. The call was made over a "dislodged net," which means that the net is displaced from its normal position before a goal. The only issue is that players and coaches did not know why it was disallowed because the NHL would consider that a "good goal."

Due to the conflict and resulting confusion, the IIHF will change the rule to match the NHL's. “We will change that rule. To disallow a goal because of two centimeters? That’s nonsense," said IIHF president Rene Fasel. That doesn't help Russia though. "But that is the existing rule, nothing can be done. That’s why I think that this rule needs to be changed and officiate the way it is done in the NHL. That’s what we will do.”

Hopefully this will make everyone more happy with the scoring of Olympic hockey because no one wants to be publicly shamed by Vladimir Putin again.


Follow @AileenGraef and @UPI on Twitter.
Contact the Author
© 2014 United Press International, Inc. All Rights Reserved. Any reproduction, republication, redistribution and/or modification of any UPI content is expressly prohibited without UPI's prior written consent.
Most Popular
Former Titans kicker dies in car crash Former Titans kicker dies in car crash
National League Game Summary - Washington at Miami
Cardinals top penalty-prone 49ers
UPI Sports Results for September 20, 2014 UPI Sports Results for September 20, 2014
Gilberto helps TFC topple Chivas
Trending News