NFL: Team Rice 22, Team Sanders 21

Jan. 26, 2014 at 11:34 PM

HONOLULU, Jan. 26 (UPI) -- DeMarco Murray's TD grab with 41 seconds left and a subsequent 2-point conversion Sunday lifted Team Rice over Team Sanders 22-21 in the 2014 Pro Bowl.

Murray hauled in a 20-yard scoring pass from Alex Smith, pulling Team Rice to within a point, and Mike Tolbert followed with a go-ahead 2-point conversion run for the victory at Aloha Stadium in Honolulu.

The go-ahead score came after Smith marched his squad 58 yards in four plays.

Nick Foles had given Team Sanders a 21-14 lead when he hooked up with tight end Jordan Cameron for a 12-yard score with 4:41 remaining.

Foles had one last shot after Team Rice took the lead, moving his team close enough for a 67-yard field goal try by Justin Tucker. But it fell short, ending the contest.

The winning team was chosen by Jerry Rice and the opposite squad by fellow Pro Football Hall of Famer Deion Sanders in a departure from the AFC-NFC format that had been used since 1971.

Related UPI Stories
Latest Headlines
Trending Stories
Electronics certification company makes hoverboard burst into flames
Eli Manning explains pout after Denver Broncos' Super Bowl score
Duke's Grayson Allen trips Louisville player
Nicola Griffin to appear in Sports Illustrated swimsuit issue at 56
Larry Sanders considering NBA comeback