Dodgers' Clayton Kershaw, Tigers' Max Scherzer claim Cy Youngs

Nov. 13, 2013 at 8:17 PM
| License Photo

NEW YORK, Nov. 13 (UPI) -- Clayton Kershaw of the Los Angeles Dodgers and the Detroit Tigers' Max Scherzer Wednesday claimed Major League Baseball's 2013 Cy Young awards.

Kershaw and Scherzer were each overwhelming choices for the honors after delivering stellar seasons.

Kershaw won his second National League award after helping lead the Dodgers to the NL West title with a 16-9 record and an MLB-best 1.83 ERA -- third straight season topping the league in that category.

He turned in 27 quality starts and led the NL in strikeouts with 232.

The 25-year-old Texan joined Sandy Koufax as the only Dodger to win more than one Cy Young.

Scherzer, meanwhile, claimed the AL honors after leading baseball with a 21-3 mark, claiming 28 of a possible 30 first-place votes from the Baseball Writers Association.

He was key piece of the Tigers' push to a third consecutive AL Championship Series appearance, compiling 13 straight winning decisions with 240 strikeouts and a 2.90 ERA.

Scherzer, 29, joined Justin Verlander (2011), Denny McClain (1968, '69) and Willie Hernandez (1984) as Detroit Cy Young winners.

Like Us on Facebook for more stories from UPI.com  
Latest Headlines
Top Stories
Tiger Woods' playing partner Steve Stricker wants the 'old Tiger back'
Texas Rangers' Hamilton promises cautious approach
Love: 'I'm going back to Cleveland'
San Antonio Spurs, Leonard agree to 5-year, $90M deal
New Orleans Pelicans, Anthony Davis agree to 5-year, $145M extension