Scott Dixon claims IndyCar title, Power wins at Auto Club Speedway

Oct. 20, 2013 at 1:24 AM

FONTANA, Calif., Oct. 20 (UPI) -- Scott Dixon won his third IndyCar Series title with a fifth-place finish at Auto Club Speedway Saturday in a season-ending race claimed by Will Power.

Dixon overcame engine problems to win the 2013 IndyCar title by 27 points over Helio Castroneves, who came in sixth Saturday.

Dixon, who won championships in 2003 and 2008, gave Chip Ganassi Racing its fifth title in six seasons.

Power netted his third win of the season and 20th in his career. It was just his second career win on an oval.

The Fontana, Calif., track was the scene of a heartbreaking finish to the season for Power last year, when he finished 24th and lost the 2012 title to Ryan Hunter-Reay by just 3 points.

Ed Carpenter finished second, followed by Tony Kanaan and James Hinchcliffe.

Like Us on Facebook for more stories from UPI.com  
Related UPI Stories
Latest Headlines
Top Stories
Report: Aldridge steps back to consider plans
First shoe drops in St. Louis Cardinals' hacking scandal
Miami Heat sign first-round F Winslow
Report: Rondo, Belinelli headed to Sacramento Kings
Wimbledon: Serena Williams survives; Djokovic dominates