Jamie McMurray ends long Sprint Cup drought with Talladega victory

Oct. 20, 2013 at 6:11 PM

LINCOLN, Ala., Oct. 20 (UPI) -- Jamie McMurray ended a 108-race winless drought Sunday, outpacing Dale Earnhardt Jr. down the stretch to take the Sprint Cup event at Talladega Superspeedway.

McMurray, who hadn't won since October 2010 at Charlotte, held onto the lead when Earnhardt's efforts to pass him on the last lap were interrupted by a crash involving Austin Dillon and Casey Mears.

The late mishap caused the race to end under a caution.

Earnhardt instead settled for second place, followed by Ricky Stenhouse Jr., Paul Menard and Kyle Busch.

Chase for the Sprint Cup Championship leader Jimmie Johnson finished in 13th place Sunday, enabling him to stretch his lead over 20th-place finisher Matt Kenseth to four points with four races left.

Follow us on Facebook, Twitter, and Instagram for more news from UPI.com
Related UPI Stories
share with facebook
share with twitter
Trending Stories