Woods was apparently fine and was still set to tee off early Saturday, but he'll have some ground to make up after a 1-over-par 72 in the first round, which included a 2-stroke penalty on the first hole and possibly a sore hand.
The Chicago Tribune said a website reported Woods possibly took the unexpected penalty out on a wall after being docked two strokes. "Let's just say there was frustration," PGA Tour rules official Slugger White told Golfweek.com. "He was a little disbelieving."
White would not confirm or deny the report about the wall, but he did explain that Woods was seen on video nudging his ball while clearing away debris ahead of a shot on the first ball.
To make a long story short, Woods did not consider the ball to have moved from its original location. But officials who saw the video concluded it had moved what the Tribune called "a fraction of a centimeter."
The result was dinged one stroke for moving the ball and another for not reporting it before signing his scorecard. The penalty led to an eight instead of the double-bogey six he had written down.
The newspaper said the incident was the third rules-related issue Woods has had on the Tour this year.
Exploding whale video goes viral on Internet
Couple mistakenly served bag of cash at McDonald's drive-thru