James Hinchcliffe wins at Iowa for 3rd IndyCar title of 2013

June 23, 2013 at 6:41 PM

NEWTON, Iowa, June 23 (UPI) -- James Hinchcliffe led for 226 of 250 laps Sunday, posting a comfortable victory at Iowa Speedway for his third IndyCar series crown of the year.

Hinchcliffe grabbed the lead for good with 34 laps to go and finished 1.5 seconds ahead of Andretti Autosport teammate and defending IndyCar champion Ryan Hunter-Reay.

The result gave Andretti the two top spots at Iowa for a second consecutive year following Hunter-Reay's victory and Marco Andretti's second-place finish at Newton in 2012.

With Sunday's second-place finish, Hunter-Reay pulled to within nine points leader Helio Castroneves.

Claiming third place was Indianapolis 500 winner Tony Kanaan. Ed Carpenter and Graham Rahal rounded out the Top 5.

Related UPI Stories
Latest Headlines
Top Stories
Los Angeles Dodgers trade for Mat Latos, Mike Morse from Miami Marlins
Robert Kraft rips commissioner, calls Tom Brady's ban 'unfathomable'
Cincinnati Reds claim rare series win vs. St. Louis Cardinals
Kam Chancellor might hold out of Seattle Seahawks camp
San Francisco Giants' Peavy, three relievers shut out Milwaukee Brewers