Kidd wins NBA's Sportsmanship Award

April 30, 2013 at 12:54 PM
| License Photo

NEW YORK, April 30 (UPI) -- New York Knicks guard Jason Kidd has been voted the NBA Sportsmanship Award winner for the second consecutive season.

Kidd, 40, was listed first on 91 of the 355 ballots returned by NBA players. Other finalists, one from each division for the honor, were Chicago's Luol Deng, Golden State's Stephen Curry, Memphis' Mike Conley, Oklahoma City's Nick Collison and Orlando's Jameer Nelson.

Kidd also won the award last year when he was with the Dallas Mavericks. He is the second player to be voted the Sportsmanship Award more than once. Grant Hill won three times (2005, '08, '10). Deng took the honor in 2007 and Curry won the award in 2011.

The award is given to a player who reflects the ideals of sportsmanship -- ethical behavior, fair play and integrity -- in amateur and professional basketball. The trophy is named for Joe Dumars, the former Detroit Pistons guard who won the first Sportsmanship Award in 1996.

Like Us on Facebook for more stories from UPI.com  
Related UPI Stories
Latest Headlines
Top Stories
A-Rod, New York Yankees negotiating compromise over HR bonus
Sacramento Kings trade Stauskas, Landry, Thompson to Philadelphia 76ers
Venable, San Diego Padres pass St. Louis Cardinals
Report: QB Miller to stay at Ohio State
New York Knicks, Afflalo agree to terms