AUGUSTA, Ga., April 13 (UPI) -- Officials at the Masters said they had initially determined Tiger Woods had complied with the rules when he took an improper drop on the 15th hole Friday.
Woods faced possible disqualification from the tournament for dropping the ball in the wrong spot but officials said he did not sign an improper scorecard because he had been given the green light to finish the round after the 1-stroke drop, the Masters Competition Committee said in a written statement.
"The penalty of disqualification was waived by the Committee under Rule 33 as the Committee had previously reviewed the information and made its initial determination prior to the finish of the player's round," the statement said.
Woods got into trouble on the 15th hole at Augusta Friday when his approach shot hit the pin and deflected into the water. He chose to take a drop and try again, but did not drop the ball where the errant shot had originated.
A second review of the video showed Woods was indeed a few feet off when he made his drop on the approach to the green. The result was a two-stroke penalty assessed early Saturday that knocked Woods down from a tie for seventh to 19th place, five shots behind second-round leader Jason Day.
The second look by the officials came after Woods told a television interviewer he thought he had been "2 yards farther back."
Committee Chairman Fred Ridley said in the statement: "The subsequent information provided by the player's interview after he had completed play warranted further review and discussion with him this morning. After meeting with the player, it was determined that he had violated Rule 26, and he was assessed a two stroke penalty."