Baylor's Griner wins 2nd Naismith Award

April 8, 2013 at 8:07 PM

NEW ORLEANS, April 8 (UPI) -- Baylor University senior Brittney Griner has won her second straight Naismith Award as women's college basketball Player of the Year, organizers said Monday.

Griner averaged 23.8 points, 9.4 rebounds and 4.1 blocks per game while shooting 61 percent from the floor this season in leading the top-seeded Bears into the NCAA tournament's regional semifinals.

The Bears (34-2) were upset by fifth-seeded Louisville, which is preparing to face Connecticut in Tuesday's championship game in New Orleans.

Griner's Naismith Award repeat was the seventh in NCAA history, following Maya Moore, Seimone Augustus, Diana Taurasi, Chamique Holdsclaw, Dawn Staley and three-timer Cheryl Miller.

Griner ended her collegiate career with most blocks (748) in NCAA history and as No. 2 on the NCAA Division I women's scoring list with 3,283 points.

Notre Dame senior Skylar Diggins, Delaware senior Elena Delle Donne and Stanford junior Chiney Ogwumike were the other 2012-13 finalists.

Latest Headlines
Top Stories
UPI horse racing roundup
NFL upholds Tom Brady's 'deflategate' suspension
New York Mets' Meija receives 162-game suspension
Tampa Bay Buccaneers re-sign DE Da'Quan Bowers
Houston Texans place Jadeveon Clowney on PUP