NHL reveals realigned divisions

Feb. 26, 2013 at 8:16 PM   |   Comments

NEW YORK, Feb. 26 (UPI) -- The NHL Tuesday unveiled a realignment plan that would take effect for the 2013-14 season if the players' association approves.

Under the alignment outlined in a memo circulated amongst the 30 teams, the Detroit Red Wings and the Columbus Blue Jackets would move from the Western Conference to the Eastern Conference.

The new setup includes two divisions of eight teams each in the East (Atlantic and Central), while two divisions of seven teams each (Midwest and Pacific) would comprise the West.

The new alignments would be:

-- Carolina, Columbus, New Jersey, the Islanders, Rangers, Philadelphia, Pittsburgh and Washington in the Atlantic.

-- Boston, Buffalo, Detroit, Montreal, Ottawa, Toronto, Florida and Tampa Bay in the Central.

-- Chicago, Colorado, Dallas, Minnesota, Nashville, St. Louis and Winnipeg in the Midwest.

-- Anaheim, Calgary, Edmonton, Vancouver, San Jose, Los Angeles and Anaheim for the Pacific.

"We have been in discussions with the Players' Association for the past several weeks on the issue of realignment and we are trying to get to a solution that everybody can live with," NHL Deputy Commissioner Bill Daly told NHL.com.

Topics: Bill Daly
© 2013 United Press International, Inc. All Rights Reserved. Any reproduction, republication, redistribution and/or modification of any UPI content is expressly prohibited without UPI's prior written consent.
Most Popular
Jameis Winston suspended for entire game against Clemson Jameis Winston suspended for entire game against Clemson
UPI Sports Schedule for Saturday, September 20
NCAA Game Summary - Iowa at Pittsburgh
UPI Sports Results for September 19, 2014 UPI Sports Results for September 19, 2014
Hill, BYU keep rolling with win over Virginia
Trending News