NHL reveals realigned divisions

Feb. 26, 2013 at 8:16 PM

NEW YORK, Feb. 26 (UPI) -- The NHL Tuesday unveiled a realignment plan that would take effect for the 2013-14 season if the players' association approves.

Under the alignment outlined in a memo circulated amongst the 30 teams, the Detroit Red Wings and the Columbus Blue Jackets would move from the Western Conference to the Eastern Conference.

The new setup includes two divisions of eight teams each in the East (Atlantic and Central), while two divisions of seven teams each (Midwest and Pacific) would comprise the West.

The new alignments would be:

-- Carolina, Columbus, New Jersey, the Islanders, Rangers, Philadelphia, Pittsburgh and Washington in the Atlantic.

-- Boston, Buffalo, Detroit, Montreal, Ottawa, Toronto, Florida and Tampa Bay in the Central.

-- Chicago, Colorado, Dallas, Minnesota, Nashville, St. Louis and Winnipeg in the Midwest.

-- Anaheim, Calgary, Edmonton, Vancouver, San Jose, Los Angeles and Anaheim for the Pacific.

"We have been in discussions with the Players' Association for the past several weeks on the issue of realignment and we are trying to get to a solution that everybody can live with," NHL Deputy Commissioner Bill Daly told NHL.com.

Like Us on Facebook for more stories from UPI.com  
Topics: Bill Daly
Latest Headlines
Top Stories
Pierre-Paul could have nerve damage from Fourth accident
Earnhardt wins as Dillon crashes at Daytona finish
Dallas Mavericks near deal with PG Lin
Los Angeles Lakers sign G Williams
Lynn, Pham carry St. Louis Cardinals past San Diego Padres