Johnson dominates in 4th Brickyard win

July 29, 2012 at 7:13 PM

INDIANAPOLIS, July 29 (UPI) -- Jimmie Johnson dominated the Brickyard 400 Sunday, leading 99 of 160 laps to claim his fourth Sprint Cup victory at Indianapolis Motor Speedway.

Johnson cruised to the winner's circle 4.76 seconds ahead of second-place finisher Kyle Busch.

The five-time Sprint Cup Series champion's other victories at Indianapolis came in 2006, 2008 and 2009. He joined Hendrick Motorsports teammate Jeff Gordon as the only NASCAR driver with four Brickyard 400 titles.

IndyCar drivers A.J. Foyt, Rick Mears and Al Unser also have four wins at the legendary track. Formula One great Michael Schumacher holds the track record with five Grand Prix victories there.

Claiming third place was Greg Biffle. Dale Earnhardt Jr. and Gordon rounded out the Top 5.

Earnhardt used his finish to claim the Sprint Cup points lead.

Like Us on Facebook for more stories from UPI.com  
Related UPI Stories
Latest Headlines
Top Stories
Cowherd has very awkward interview with Michigan's Harbaugh
UPI Horse Racing Weekend Preview
Report: QB Miller to stay at Ohio State
Venable, San Diego Padres pass St. Louis Cardinals
A-Rod, New York Yankees negotiating compromise over HR bonus