Murray rolls through Wimbledon first round

June 26, 2012 at 4:37 PM
1 of 2
| License Photo

LONDON, June 26 (UPI) -- No. 4-seeded Andy Murray sailed through his first-round match Tuesday at Wimbledon.

Murray had little trouble in a 6-1, 6-1, 6-4 rout of Nikolay Davydenko. Murray was on the court just 55 minutes in building the two-set lead. He didn't face a break point and had just six unforced errors against 27 winners.

No. 2-seeded Rafael Nadal also won in straight sets, overcoming a 0-3 deficit in the first set en route to a 7-6 (7-0), 6-2, 6-3 win over Thomaz Bellucci. Nadal dropped service twice in the first set but took control of the match in the first-set tiebreaker shutout.

Jo-Wilfried Tsonga, the No. 5-seed, rolled by Lleyton Hewitt 6-3, 6-4, 6-4. Tsonga fired 21 aces and saved all eight break-point chances Hewitt managed.

Ninth-seeded Juan Martin del Potro got past Robin Haase 6-4, 3-6, 7-6 (7-3), 7-5 and No. 10 Mardy Fish defeated Ruben Ramirez Hidalgo in a tight 7-6 (7-3), 7-5, 7-6 (7-1) while 12th-seeded Nicolas Almagro rallied for a 6-7 (4-7), 3-6, 7-6 (7-4), 6-2, 6-4 win over Olivier Rochus.

Four matches, including one involving seventh-seeded David Ferrer were suspended Tuesday because of late rain. No 25-seeded Stanislas Wawrinka and 30th-seeded Andy Roddick were among those playing when the rain hit.

Jarkko Nieminen ousted 14th-seeded Feliciano Lopez 7-6 (7-4), 3-6, 7-6 (7-5), 6-4. There were just two breaks -- one by each player -- in the match and Lopez lost despite 28 aces and winning more points (150-148) than Nieminen.

Other upsets saw David Goffin take out No 20 Bernard Tomic 3-6, 6-3, 6-4, 6-4 and Grigor Dimitrov eliminate 32nd-seeded Kevin Anderson 7-5, 7-6 (7-3), 6-7 (4-7), 6-3.

Other seeded winners Tuesday included 16th-seeded Marin Cilic, No. 19 Kei Nishikori, No. 21 Milos Raonic, 22nd-seeded Alexandr Dolgopolov and No. 27 Philipp Kohlschreiber.

Unseeded players who earned slots in the second round Tuesday were: Nicolas Mahut, Lukas Lacko, Kenny de Schepper, Malek Jaziri, Marcos Baghdatis, Lukas Rosol, Guillermo Garcia-Lopez, Jesse Levine, Wayne Odesnik, Florent Serra, James Ward, Brian Baker, Go Soeda, Benoit Paire and Sam Querrey.

Follow us on Facebook, Twitter, and Instagram for more news from
Related UPI Stories
share with facebook
share with twitter
Trending Stories