facebook
twitter
search
search

Nalbandian fined for injuring line judge

June 18, 2012 at 2:53 PM
| License Photo

LONDON, June 18 (UPI) -- David Nalbandian was fined $12,560 and not allowed to collect the runner-up winnings after injuring a line judge at a tennis tournament in England.

Nalbandian was disqualified after falling behind in the second set of Sunday's AEGON Championships final. He won the first set 7-6 (7-3) but slipped behind Marin Cilic 3-4 in the second after dropping serve.

He reacted by kicking an advertising sign around the chair of line judge Andrew McDougall, who suffered a cut on his left shin.

Nalbandian, who apologized to McDougall, was disqualified at that point and Cilic was awarded the championship.

The default cost Nalbandian the second-place check of more than $57,000 and 150 ranking points. The ATP said the fine of $12,560 was the maximum allowed.

London police also said they are investigating the incident as an assault after a complaint was filed.

Nalbandian,from Argentina, said he didn't think the incident amounted to a default.

"Sometimes you get very frustrated on court and it's tough to control that and sometimes I do a mistake. So it's very tough to end a final like that," he said. "I agree I do a mistake but sometimes everybody do a mistake and I didn't feel it had to end like that, especially in a final."

Related UPI Stories
Latest Headlines
Trending Stories
Electronics certification company makes hoverboard burst into flames
Eli Manning explains pout after Denver Broncos' Super Bowl score
Duke's Grayson Allen trips Louisville player
Nicola Griffin to appear in Sports Illustrated swimsuit issue at 56
Larry Sanders considering NBA comeback