Franchitti wins IndyCar pole in Milwaukee

June 15, 2012 at 9:15 PM

MILWAUKEE, June 15 (UPI) -- Dario Franchitti had a two-lap average of 168.737 mph Friday to win the pole for the Milwaukee IndyFest.

Franchitti, four-time winner the IndyCar series, captured the 27th pole of his career. That put him in a tie with Al Unser for seventh place on the all-time list.

"I'm very pleased and am surprised, actually," Franchitti said. "That was quite a turnaround from practice."

Franchitti won the Milwaukee race from the pole last year.

Justin Wilson had the second-fastest qualifying time, but he was one of seven drivers who made an unapproved engine change and received a 10-spot penalty on the starting grid.

Will Power and Scott Dixon, who are 1-2 in the points race, received the same penalty.

Ryan Hunter-Reay will start alongside Franchitti on the first row for Saturday's race, followed by Rubens Barrichello and Helio Castroneves.

Related UPI Stories
Latest Headlines
Trending Stories
Super Bowl: Cam Newton goes dim postgame
Watch every star-studded Super Bowl commercial of 2016
Man uses snowboard to wakeboard on flooded streets
New York Knicks fire coach Derek Fisher
List of all records set and tied in Super Bowl 50