Franchitti wins IndyCar pole in Milwaukee

June 15, 2012 at 9:15 PM

MILWAUKEE, June 15 (UPI) -- Dario Franchitti had a two-lap average of 168.737 mph Friday to win the pole for the Milwaukee IndyFest.

Franchitti, four-time winner the IndyCar series, captured the 27th pole of his career. That put him in a tie with Al Unser for seventh place on the all-time list.

"I'm very pleased and am surprised, actually," Franchitti said. "That was quite a turnaround from practice."

Franchitti won the Milwaukee race from the pole last year.

Justin Wilson had the second-fastest qualifying time, but he was one of seven drivers who made an unapproved engine change and received a 10-spot penalty on the starting grid.

Will Power and Scott Dixon, who are 1-2 in the points race, received the same penalty.

Ryan Hunter-Reay will start alongside Franchitti on the first row for Saturday's race, followed by Rubens Barrichello and Helio Castroneves.

Like Us on Facebook for more stories from UPI.com  
Latest Headlines
Top Stories
Pierre-Paul could have nerve damage from Fourth accident
Earnhardt wins as Dillon crashes at Daytona finish
Dallas Mavericks near deal with PG Lin
Los Angeles Lakers sign G Williams
Lynn, Pham carry St. Louis Cardinals past San Diego Padres