Biffle breaks Sprint Cup winless streak

April 15, 2012 at 12:07 AM

FORT WORTH, Texas, April 15 (UPI) -- Greg Biffle corralled his first Sprint Cup victory since October 2010 Saturday, passing Jimmie Johnson with 30 laps left for a Texas Motor Speedway victory.

Johnson led for 156 laps, but Biffle -- who broke a 49-race winless streak -- passed him late. Johnson made contact with the wall shortly afterwards, ending his hopes for a 200th Hendrick Motorsports Sprint Cup win.

It was Biffle's 17th career triumph on NASCAR's premier circuit, and it gave him a 19-point lead over his Roush Fenway Racing teammate Matt Kenseth and Dale Earnhardt Jr.

Coming in third was Mark Martin, while Jeff Gordon and defending champion Kenseth rounded out the Top 5.

Related UPI Stories
Latest Headlines
Trending Stories
Electronics certification company makes hoverboard burst into flames
Eli Manning explains pout after Denver Broncos' Super Bowl score
Duke's Grayson Allen trips Louisville player
Nicola Griffin to appear in Sports Illustrated swimsuit issue at 56
Larry Sanders considering NBA comeback