Sadler claims 1st Nationwide win since '98

March 3, 2012 at 7:28 PM

PHOENIX, March 3 (UPI) -- Elliott Sadler held off Brad Keselowski down the stretch at Phoenix International Raceway Saturday, claiming his first Nationwide Series title in 14 years.

Sadler, who last won a Nationwide event in 1998 at Rockingham, N.C., edged Keselowski by 0.3 seconds to take the Bashas' Supermarkets 200.

The Richard Childress Racing team driver grabbed the lead with 26 laps remaining and hung tough to log his first victory in 91 starts on the circuit.

Defending Nationwide champ Ricky Stenhouse Jr. finished third, followed by rookie Austin Dillon.

Kevin Harvick led for 107 of 200 laps but settled for fifth place after nearly crashing on the backstretch following the final restart.

Related UPI Stories
Latest Headlines
Trending Stories
SB50: Denver Broncos face tough call at QB in 2016
Johnny Manziel's ex-girlfriend claims he hit her
NFLPA hopes to have independent arbitration for player discipline next season
Watch every star-studded Super Bowl commercial of 2016
Group recreates 'Mario Kart' video game at UK mall