Ragan earns pole in Texas

April 8, 2011 at 8:56 PM

FORT WORTH, Texas, April 8 (UPI) -- David Ragan won the first Sprint Cup pole of his career Friday, turning in the fastest qualifying lap for Saturday's race at Texas Motor Speedway.

Ragan was clocked in 189.820 mph. His first pole comes in his 153rd Sprint Cup race.

His Roush Fenway Racing teammate, Carl Edwards, qualified second. Ragan has never won a Sprint Cup race, having finished a career-best fourth on four occasions. The most recent of those finishes came in Texas two years ago.

Clint Bowyer, Matt Kenseth and Regan Smith rounded out the first five qualifiers, followed by Jimmie Johnson, Marcos Ambrose, Joey Logano, Greg Biffle and Kurt Busch.

Kyle Busch, who currently leads the points race, qualified 11th. He has a five-point lead over Edwards.

Like Us on Facebook for more stories from UPI.com  
Latest Headlines
Top Stories
Matt Wisler strong again as Atlanta Braves beat St. Louis Cardinals
UPI Horse Racing Weekend Preview
Cincinnati Bengals' Green: "My time is coming"
Tim Hudson comes full circle as San Francisco Giants edge Oakland Athletics
Johnny Manziel has chance to start for Cleveland Browns