NASCAR names five Hall of Fame inductees

Oct. 13, 2010 at 6:36 PM

CHARLOTTE, N.C., Oct. 13 (UPI) -- Five auto racing greats will be inducted into NASCAR's Hall of Fame as part of the institution's second round of honorees, officials said Wednesday.

Joining this year's inaugural five will be the 2011 class of David Pearson, Bobby Allison, Lee Petty, Ned Jarrett and Bud Moore, NASCAR said.

The first four are former champion drivers while Moore is renowned as one of stock car racing's most successful owners.

The five join the initial 2010 class of Bill France Sr., Richard Petty, Bill France Jr., Dale Earnhardt and Junior Johnson.

Pearson won the championship three times ('66, '68 and '69) and is second to Richard Petty on the all-time race winners list with 105 victories while Allison ended his career with 84 career wins and was a member of NASCAR's famed "Alabama Gang."

Petty was the first driver to win three Cup titles ('54, '58 and '59) and also took the first Daytona 500 in 1959, and Jarrett clinched NASCAR championships in '61 and '65.

Like Us on Facebook for more stories from UPI.com  
Latest Headlines
Top Stories
Pierre-Paul could have nerve damage from Fourth accident
Earnhardt wins as Dillon crashes at Daytona finish
Dallas Mavericks near deal with PG Lin
Los Angeles Lakers sign G Williams
Lynn, Pham carry St. Louis Cardinals past San Diego Padres