Ambrose wins 3rd straight at Watkins Glen

Aug. 7, 2010 at 5:50 PM

WATKINS GLEN, N.Y., Aug. 7 (UPI) -- Pole sitter Marcos Ambrose dominated for 60 of 82 laps Saturday, easily taking the Zippo 200 Nationwide Series race at Watkins Glen International.

Ambrose held off a late challenge by Joey Logano, finishing three seconds ahead and notching his third straight victory in the event.

He joins Terry Labonte as the only drivers to win three consecutive Nationwide races at Watkins Glen.

Kevin Harvick ended in third place, followed by points leader Brad Keselowski and Kyle Busch, who fell short in his bid to collect a record-tying 10th Nationwide win this season.

Keselowski's fourth-place showing allowed him to widen his lead over Carl Edwards to 327 points. Edwards had engine problems Saturday and wound up finishing 33rd.

Like Us on Facebook for more stories from UPI.com  
Latest Headlines
Top Stories
Pierre-Paul could have nerve damage from Fourth accident
Dallas Mavericks near deal with PG Lin
MMA's Melendez tests positive for banned substance
VIDEO: Florida State's Johnson punches woman in face
Toronto Blue Jays' Donaldson breaks All-Star voting record