McMurray wins Sprint Cup pole

July 9, 2010 at 9:37 PM

JOLIET, Ill., July 9 (UPI) -- Jamie McMurray won his third Sprint Cup pole of the season Friday by leading the qualifying for Saturday's running of the LifeLock.com 400.

McMurray turned a lap around the Chicagoland Speedway in 183.542 mph. It was his sixth career Sprint Cup pole. He has won more poles this year than any other driver on the circuit.

McMurray won the season-opening Daytona 500 in February, but has fallen to 19th place in the points race. There are eight races remaining before the top 12 drivers in the standings begin the chase for the championship.

Four-time defending series champion Jimmie Johnson qualified second, followed by Tony Stewart, Greg Biffle and Sam Hornish Jr.

Qualifying sixth through 10th were Jeff Gordon, David Reutimann, Martin Truex, Paul Menard and Juan Pablo Montoya. Points leader Kevin Harvick will start 27th.

Related UPI Stories
Latest Headlines
Trending Stories
SB50: Denver Broncos face tough call at QB in 2016
Johnny Manziel's ex-girlfriend claims he hit her
NFLPA hopes to have independent arbitration for player discipline next season
Watch every star-studded Super Bowl commercial of 2016
Group recreates 'Mario Kart' video game at UK mall