Kanaan edges Castroneves for Iowa win

June 20, 2010 at 5:36 PM

NEWTON, Iowa, June 20 (UPI) -- Tony Kanaan outdueled Helio Castroneves late in the race Sunday to claim the Iowa Corn Indy 250 at Iowa Speedway.

Kanaan snapped a 34-race, two-year IZOD IndyCar Series winless streak. He passed Castroneves with 10 laps remaining and then held him off down the stretch, finishing 4.2 seconds in front.

Kanaan registered his 14th career IndyCar win and first since June 2008 at Richmond, Va.

Finishing third was E.J. Viso with Ryan Briscoe and pole sitter Will Power trailing behind in fourth and fifth place, respectively.

With his Sunday finish, Power improved his points lead over sixth-place finisher Scott Dixon to 11.

Meanwhile, 2007 and 2009 Iowa winner Dario Franchitti encountered a gear-box issue late in the race and ended up finishing 18th.

Like Us on Facebook for more stories from UPI.com  
Latest Headlines
Top Stories
Earnhardt wins as Dillon crashes at Daytona finish
Los Angeles Lakers sign G Williams
Women's World Cup: Lloyd leads USA to title
Detroit Pistons agree to deal with PG Jackson
Lynn, Pham carry St. Louis Cardinals past San Diego Padres